411Fit Member Blog: The Start of My Transformation

By: Denise Simpson

In August of 2010 I stepped on a scale and was blown away because it said I was 491 pounds. All I thought was, ‘I weigh almost 500 pounds.’ So I made up in my mind that it was time for me to do something about my weight.  I started “watching” what I ate. In my mind, I wanted to lose weight but little did I know that I was starting a journey called  “transformation.”

My name is Denise and I am 40 years old. I am a social worker and therefore, since I can remember, I have always been a “help” to others. When I got on that scale, I realized that I had to help myself.  I am happy to report that I currently weigh 382. As I reflect back on the transformation journey thus far, many thoughts come to mind.

First, it has not been easy.
Every day, I wake up and know that there are certain things that I cannot do and certain things that I must do. Eating right and exercising are two things that I must do. What I cannot do is get discouraged. My biggest struggle has been exercising. Growing up I played soccer, but then I switched to playing instruments. So exercising was not something that I made a point to do. However, today I can say that I look forward to my workouts. As recently as last week, I actually had to reframe my mind. Instead of being concerned with how long my workout is, I just work out. This reframing has helped me tremendously because I was consumed with making it to 45 minutes or 60 minutes of exercise. Ironically, now that I am focused on just working out and moving, I’m hitting those times more easily.

Second, who you have on your team of support is critical because let’s face it, we all need support.
Your team may start off small, but one person can be that lifeline that keeps you in the race. I have found that my team is not made up of the people I originally thought it would be.  Without my team to share and talk with, I don’t know what I would do. I stumbled upon the 411fit website literally by accident, but I know it was on purpose. I love it and I am still getting used to logging my day.  Being able to see what I have done and the progress I have made is very beneficial. I also enjoy blogging because it is a level of accountability. I like to encourage others who are also on this journey.

Third, a person has to realize their self-worth.
This has been very eye opening for me. I was clearly wearing a mask for years. After taking off my mask and looking at my issues, I am happy to report, my masks have all been thrown away.

I will be blogging weekly for 411Fit as I continue to use the site to help with my weight loss goals so that you may follow me on my transformation.  I welcome your support and feedback!

(411Fit Note: Denise is a tremendous motivation within the 411Fit community and we are glad she found us!  She interacts with members regularly through our member blogs and member forums as she continues her journey.)

Leave a comment